About the Indiana Limestone Symposium

The Indiana Limestone Symposium was founded in 1996 by two master stone sculptors, Amy Brier and Frank Young. It’s based on the Greek model of gathering for discussion and celebration, and continues the tradition of sculpture symposia that are common in Europe and Asia. The Symposium’s instructors believe that anyone with the desire to carve can learn how. The atmosphere is relaxed, congenial, and non-judgmental. Instructors are available at all times to guide participants through the process of carving from start to finish.

“First time I hit the chisel, all the lights went on.”
– Ned Cunningham, lead carver and Symposium instructor

Our Mission

The mission of the Indiana Limestone Symposium is to teach and share the art and tradition of carving limestone.


Amy Brier – President, sculptor, co-founder, Limestone Symposium, Associate Professor Ivy Tech Community College
Michal Ann Carley – Secretary, artist, curator, co-owner Luna Song Designs
Cynthia Brubaker – Treasurer, preservation developer
Sharon Fullingim – Director, ex officio, Sculptor, Indiana Limestone Symposium ex officio

Board of Directors

Cem Basman – Principal, Turquoise Planet Consulting Bloomington, Indiana Professional Training & Coaching
Will Bybee – Ex officio, Owner and president, Bybee Stone Company
Cathy Haggerty – Artist, carver, business owner
Bill Holladay – Sculptor
Cheryl Lorance – Sculptor, painter, Adjunct Instructor at Ivy Tech Community College, Indianapolis
Gerry Masse – Director of Public Relations, Sculpture Trails Outdoor Museum Solsberry, IN.

Advisory Board

Pat Fell Barker – CEO, B.G. Hoadley Quarries
Mark Carroll – Sculptor, Phoenix, Arizona
Dale Enochs – Sculptor, Bloomington, Indiana
Marc Fields – President, The Compleat Sculptor, New York, New York
Janey Westin – Sculptor, Edina, Minnesota